Both of Tier-1 National Cricket League matches ended in draw | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

Both of Tier-1 National Cricket League matches ended in draw


Dhaka – Both the 5th round first class Tier-1 matches of the Walton 19th National Cricket League (NCL) ended in draw on the 4th and final day at two separate venues across the country on Monday.Barisal Division forced holders and league leader Khulna Division to settle for a draw at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi while Rangpur Division also played to a draw with Dhaka Division at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna.After the 5th round matches, defending champions Khulna Division topped the list securing 16 points while Dhaka Division and Rangpur Division followed the leaders collecting 10 points each, also playing five matches. Barisal Division remained at bottom in four-team Tier-1 league with eight points from five encounters.In Rajshahi, Replying to Khulna Division’s mammoth first innings total 511 runs, Barisal Division resumed the 2nd innings with overnight total 80 for 1 and scored 296 for 5 in 110 overs when bails were drawn for the 4th and final day (Monday) .Earlier on Sunday, Barisal Division felt victim of follow-on as they were also all out for 296 runs in the first innings.In the day’s 2nd innings, Barisal Division made two good partnerships to hold Khulna Division. Two overnight batsmen–opener Rafsan Al Mahmud pairing one down Fazle Mahmud hammered a polished 177 runs in the 2nd wicket stand while Shohag Gazi partnering with Nuruzzaman added 64 runs in the 5th wicket stand.Fazle Mahmud (29) made a ton scoring 107 runs off 237 balls, hitting 12 boundaries, Rafsan Al Mahmud (47) contributed 85 runs off 212 balls, featuring 12 fours and a six, number six national colored all rounder Shohag Gazi scored an unbeaten 63-ball 68 runs with eight four and three sixes while Nuruzzaman made 79-ball 19 runs with two fours.Occasional bowler Anamul Haque, pacer Al Amin Hossain, Monirul Islam and Nahidul Haque took one wicket a piece.National coloured all rounder Ziaur Rahman, who scored an unconquered 152 for Khulna Division, was adjudged the man of the match.Khulna 1st innings: 511 for 8 declared, Ziaur Rahman not out 152, Robiul Islam 114, Tushar Imran 51, Shohag Gazi 4/148, Salman Hossain 2/72 Barisal Division first innings: 296 all out in 92 overs, Shohag Gazi 65, Moin Khan 61, Salman Hossain 53, Fazle Mahmud 30. Shamsul Islam 30, Monir Khan 27, Nahidul Islam 3/51, Abdur Razzal 3/89, Robiual Islam 2/43 and Al Amin Hossain 2/73.
2nd innings : 296 for 5 in 110 overs (overnight 80 for 1 in 35 overs ) ; Fazle Mahmud 107, Rafsan Mahmud 85, Shohag Gazi not out 68, Nuruzzaman 19, Anamul Haque 1/14, Al Amin 1/29, Monirul Islam 1/44 and Nahidul Haque 1/47..In Khulna, Replying to Rangpur Division’s comfortable first innings total of 560 for 8 declared, Dhaka Division resumed the first innings with overnight total 295 for 6 and scored 321 runs for all in 142.5 overs to be the victim of follow-on.Number five batsman Shuvagata Hom hammered 67 runs off 100 balls hitting nine fours and six, one down Minhaj Khan scored 159-ball 62 runs featuring seven boundaries.Raqibul Hasan made 51 runs off 115 balls with five fours, opener Rony Talukder made 27 off 124 balls with two fours and Taibur Rahman hits 59-ball 24 runs with three fours.Abdur Rahman grabbed four wickets for 60 runs, Mahmudul Hasan claimed three wickets for 71 runs while Suhrawady Shuvo took two wickets for 103 runs.Victim of follow-on, Dhaka opened the 2nd innings and scored 85 for 1 in 49 overs when the bails were draw for the 4th and final day (Monday) to settle for a draw. Opener Abdul Mazid and one down Minhaj Khan remained not out on 52 runs and 23 runs respectively.Mahmudul Hasan captured the lone wicket of Rony Talukder for 18 runs.Naeem Islam of Rangpur Division, who hits double century making 216 runs, was adjudged the man of the match.Rangpur Division 1st innings: 560 for 8 (Dec) in 147.2 overs ; Naeem Islam 216, Suhrawardi 145, Ariful Haque not out 100, Saymon 31; Shuvagata Hom 3/125, Taibur Rahman 2/57.Dhaka Division first innings : 321 all out in 142.5 (overnight 295 for 6 in 119 overs, Shuvagata Hom 67, Minhaj Khan 62, Raqibul Hasan 51, Rony Talukder 27, Abdul Mazid 25, Taibur Rahman 24, Abdur Rahman 460, Mahmudul Hasan 3/71 and Suhrawady Shuvo 2/103.2nd innings- 85 for 1 in 49 overs: Abdul Mazid not out 52, Minhaj Khan not out 23, Mahmudul Hasan 1/28 The 6th and final round league-deciding matches will be held after franchised-based Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Cricket.National Cricket League standing after the 5th round
Tier 1
Teams M W L D PT
Khulna Div 5 1 0 4 16
Dhaka Div 5 0 0 5 10
Rangpur Div 5 0 0 5 10
Barisal Div 5 0 1 4 8,UNB news agency


Comments are closed.