BPL: Dhaka Abahani clinch top slot beating Rahmatganj 2-0 | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BPL: Dhaka Abahani clinch top slot beating Rahmatganj 2-0


Dhaka  – Dhaka Abahani Limited advanced to the top slot in the 12-team JB Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football forcing
Rahmatganj Muslim Friends Society to concede their first defeat by 0-2 goals at Bangabandhu National Stadium on Wednesday.
With the first defeat in the 11th round match, Rahmatganj MFS went down to the 2nd place in the league table with their previous credit of 22 points from 11 matches while Dhaka Abahani moved to the top slot in the league table securing 23 points from 11 encounters,UNB News Agency Reported.
Nigerian booter Sunday Chizoba scored both the goals for the popular sky-blue Dhanmondi outfit in the 2nd half.After a barren first half, striker Sunday Chizoba put Abahani ahead in the 48th minute by a right footed brilliant shot utilising a readymade pass from Jewel Rana (1-0).Sunday sealed the fate of the match in the stoppage time of the last half by a meritorious long distance from about 50 yards making fool the Rahmatganj custodian Samiul Islam Masum (2-0).In the day’s vital match, Abahani managed a good chance to take lead in the 32nd minute but the header of their forward Sunday Chizoba was brilliantly saved by Rahmatgonj goalie Masum at the cost of a corner.In the 62nd minute, Abahani spoiled another good chance to double the margin but Rahamatganj defender Saddam Hossain Anny tackled the situation foiling a right footer of Sunday.Rahamatganj managed a golden opportunity to level the margin in the 49th minute but an angular right footer of Siyo Zunapio was nicely saved by Abahani goalie Shahidul Alam Sohel.National coloured custodian of Abahani Ltd Shadidul Alam Sohel got marching order in the dying moment of the match as he reacted indecently and pushed down Rahmatganj forward Nurul Absar who fouled him in the danger zone.Red card– Shahidul Alam Sohel (Abahani)Abahani Limited: Shahidul Alam Sohel, Waly Faisal, Topu Barman, Samad Yussif, Emon Mahmud, Hemonta Vinsent Biswas, Lee Andrew Tuck, Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Jewel Rana, Mamun Miah and Sunday Chizoba Rahamatgonj MFS: Samiul Islam Masum, Rafiqur Rahman Mamun, Sawkat Rasel, Ali Hossain, Sohel Mia, Saddam Hossain Anny, Mehbub Hasan Nayon, Faysal Ahmed, Siyo Zunapio, Jatta Mustapha and Eleta Benjamin Jnr


Comments are closed.