BPL: Rangpur Riders post 192 for 3 against Comilla Victorians | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BPL: Rangpur Riders post 192 for 3 against Comilla Victorians


Dhaka – A brilliant century by Johnson Charles guided Mashrafe Bin Mortaza-led Rangpur Riders to a comfortable score of 192 for 3 in 20 overs against Tamim Iqbal-led Comilla Victorians in the 2nd qualifier of the 5th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Cricket at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Monday.Rain stopped the match at 6:35pm on the schedule day on Sunday when Rangpur Riders scored 55 for 1 in 7 overs losing the valuable wicket of West Indian batting sensation Chris Gayle (3).Earlier, Comilla Victorians opted to bowl first against Rangpur Riders after winning the toss in the 2nd qualifier at rain-soaked Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday.After a marathon discussion, meeting and drama among BPL Governing Council, Bangladesh Cricket Board and captains and officials of the participating teams on Sunday night, the BPL authorities decided to hold the remaining part of the match from Monday evening.
As per the decision, Rangpur Riders resumed the batting with their overnight collection of 55 for 1 in 7 overs and piled up the huge total featuring a 151-run 2nd wicket partnership by West Indian batsman Johnson Charles and Kiwi batsman Brendon McCullum.
Johnson Charles quick-fired unconquered 105 runs off 63 balls, hitting nine fours and seven sixes while McCullum contributed 46-ball 78 runs with one four and nine sixes before he was bowled by Hasan Ali at 178 for 2 in 19 overs.Number four batsman Ravi Bopara went back to the pavilion quickly in his first ball with a duck when scoreboard was showing 184 for 3 in 19.3 overs. Mashrafe remained not out on zero.Hasan Ali, Mohammad Saifuddin and Mahedi Hasan took one wicket each conceding 23, 38 and 44 runs respectively.
The winners of the match will play defending champions Dhaka Dynamites in the final of the seven-team franchise-based league on Tuesday at the same venue and same time.Both the Victorians and Riders made one change to their previous line-up. Rangpur Riders brought in Isuru Udana for Lasith Malinga who left for Sri Lanka while Comilla Victorians picked Graeme Cremer in place of Dwayne Bravo.Rangpur Riders: Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Brendon McCullum, Mohammad Mithun, Ravi Bopara, Nahidul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Nazmul Islam, Isuru Udana and Sohag Gazi . Comilla Victorians: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Jos Buttler, Marlon Samuels, Shoaib Malik, Hasan Ali, Mahedi Hasan, Graeme Cremer, Al-Amin Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin ,UNB


Comments are closed.