Charge sheet against 49 BNP men on police station attack case

Charge sheet against 49 BNP men on police station attack case


Court Correspondent

Police of Paltan Model Police Station on Tuesday submitted two separate charge sheets against 49 BNP men including Barrister Rafiqul Islam Miah and Amanullah Aman in a case filed for arson attack with Paltan Police station.Sub-Inspector Mizanur Rahman, of the police station and also the Investigation Officer of the case, submitted the charge sheets to the CMM Court of Dhaka under the Penal Code and the Explosive Substances Act. The charge sheets will be duly produced to the court on March 6.

Of the 49 accused, 22 BNP men including Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) President Rajib Ahsan, BNP leader Shahid Uddin Chowdhury Annie and Ariful Haq Arif were on bail in the case while 27 other BNP men including barrister Rafiqul Islam Miah, Barkatullah Bulu, Khairul Kabir Khokon, Abdul Awal Mintoo, Shimul Biswas, Joynal Abedin Farooq, Sharafat Ali Sapu, Sultan Salauddin Tuku and others are on the run in the case.

On January 6, 2015, miscreants set fire to a Motijheel-Banani route bus in front of Rupali Bank at Bangabandhu Avenue. Besides, they exploded three crude bombs during the incident. Nurul Islam, driver of the bus, filed a case with Paltan Police Station on the day.

Senior BNP leaders and many activists have been facing such cases tied with their 90-day transportation blockade programme across the country that began in January last year in support of their demand to ouster of the government and for an exclusive election.


Comments are closed.