Fakhrul, Khasru, Salahuddin in BNP standing committee

Fakhrul, Khasru, Salahuddin in BNP standing committee


BNP finally announced its full-fledged executive and standing committees on Saturday, over four and a half months after its national council held on March 19. On behalf of BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia, party secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the 502- member executive and 19-member standing committees at a press briefing at BNP’s Nayaplatan central office. However, two posts -17th and 18th number positions in the BNP policymaking body– and five posts — youth affairs secretary, student affairs secretary its assistant secretary and two international affairs secretaries – in the executive committee will be announced later. Dhaka, UNB News Agency Reported.

BNP chairperson’s 73-member advisory council was also announced. Mirza Fakhrul, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury and Salahuddin Ahmed, now facing trial in India, got a berth in the standing committee. Besides, 113 new faces were co-opted in the executive committee.
At the BNP national council held in the city, party councillors endorsed Khaleda Zia as party chairperson and her son Tarique Rahman as senior vice chairman. They also entrusted Khaleda with the responsibility to constitute the party executive committee and stranding committee.

Earlier, the party unveiled the names for 42 posts, including that for secretary-general, senior joint secretary-general, treasurer, joint secretaries general, organising secretaries and assistant organising secretaries.However, some changes were brought in the earlier declared posts, including in the posts of Chittagong divisional organising, secretary and its assistant organising secretary. Khaleda Zia is the number one member of the standing committee while her eldest son and senior vice chairman Tarique Rahman the second one.

The 15 other names of the standing committee are Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Tariqul Islam, Mahbubur Rahman, ASM Hannan Shah, MK Anwar, Rafiqul Islam Miah, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury and Salahuddin Ahmed.Of the previous committee members, 14 were kept in the fresh one while two —Shamsul Islam and Sarwari Rahman — were dropped. Two others — Khandaker Delwar Hossain and Dr RA Gani — died, while Salahuddin Quader Chowdhury was executed on charge of committing crimes against humanity during the 1971 Liberation War.

Shamsul Islam and Sarwari Rahman were dropped as they have long been suffering from old-age complications. Sarwari is now number one member of the BNP chairperson’s advisory council.Nearly two dozens of family members of the party’s current and ex-leaders were co-opted in the executive committee.Executed war criminal Salahuddin Quader Chowdhury’s son Hummam Quader Chowdhury, who reportedly remained missing since Thursday, is one of the 113 new executive committee members of the party.

Besides, party leader Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain’s son Maruf Hossain, late Nasiruddin Pintu’s wife Nasima Akhter Kalpana, Abdul Awal Mintoo’s son Tabith Awal, Netai Roy Chowdhury’s daughter Nipun Roy Chowdhury, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir’s brother Mirza Faisal Amin, Mirza Abbas’ brother Mirza Khokan, Khaleda Zia’s nephew Shahrin Islam Tuhin, late party leader Hemayet Hosain’s Auranga’s wife Tahmina Khan Auranga, Salahuddin Ahmed’s wife Hasina Ahmed, and Mir Nasir’s son Mir Helal, ex-Whip Jahed Ali’s son Fahim Chowdhury, late Khandaker Delwar Hossain’s son Abdul Hamid Dablu and ex-minister Alamgir Kabir’s brother Anwar Hossain Bulu were made executive committee members.

Abbas’ wife Afroza Abbas was made BNP’s assistant woman affairs secretary while Gayeshwar Chandra’s daughter Arpna Roy marginalised manpower development affairs assistant secretary, Jamiruddin Sircar’s son Naoshad Jamir international affairs secretary. Missing BNP leader M Ilias Ali’s wife Tahsian Rushdir Luna and Harurnor Rashi Munnu’s daughter Afroza Khan Rita, Shamsul Islam Khan’s son Moinul Islam Shanta and standing committee member Rafiqul Ilsam Miah’s wife Shahida Rafique were made BNP chairperson’s advisory council members.

Besides, party ex-secretary general KM Obaidur Rahman’s daughter Shama Obayed was appointed party’s organising secretary while Tariqul Islam’s son Aninda Islam Amity assistant organising secretary. In his instant reaction, Fakhrul said, “The new committees are very vibrant and dynamic ones. We think the members of the committees will play a positive role in Bangladesh’s politics.”

Asked why their executive committee size extended to 502-number one from the previous 386-number one, he said they did it considering the current situation and the party expansion. “Now the number of our active leaders has increased. Besides, many leaders have groomed in our different associate bodies. We’ve accommodated some of them to cerate future leaders.”

Leader close to Khaleda said she has formed the committees applying a strategy to keep happy all the party leaders. “Those who did not get position in the executive committee will be included in the sub-committees to be formed on different ministries. Besides, many mid-ranking leaders will be inducted into different associate bodies of the party.” Meanwhile, hours after he was made a BNP vice chairman, Mosaddek Ali Falu y quit his post on ‘personal and health ground’. Besides, BNP’s new executive committee’s assistant publicity affairs secretary Shamimur Rahman Shamim also sent a letter to the party secretary seeking relief from his new post.


Comments are closed.