Logo, trophy of jb BPL unveiled | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

Logo, trophy of jb BPL unveiled


Dhaka  – The logo and the trophy of the 12-team jb Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football were unveiled in a colourful
ceremony at a city hotel on Monday evening.The ceremony featured playing league’s theme song, captains of the participating posing with trophy and ramp models demonstrating catwalks wearing jerseys and carrying flags of the 12 participating teams.
State Minister for Youth and Sports Dr Biren Sikder was the chief guest at the function.The first phase of the league will be held at MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong from July 24 while the opening ceremony of the league will also take place at the same venue on July 20.Defending champions Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club is likely to play the opening match with Arambagh Krira Sangsad while Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra will play Uttar Baridhara Club in the other opening day match.State-owned BTV and Boishakhi Television will telecast all the matches live.Addressing the function, Dr Biren Sikder said, “An initiative has been taken to regain the popularity of football. Country’s sports-loving Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina ordered me to take the initiative for popularising the sports, especially football at grassroots level.”He informed that his ministry has already taken a project to construct 490 stadiums at district level and it will invite tenders for the construction work of 131 stadiums within by one and a half months.Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) President Kazi Salahuddin thanked all who extended their hands to organise the 9th edition of
the event.Salahuddin said, “We’re all here for the development of football.There’re a lot of businessmen here to support us and we’re all working together. I believe if we work together, no obstacle can stop us from reaching the international level soon.”Chairman of the BFF Professional Football League Committee Abdus Salam Murshedy, Managing Director of Saif Global Sports Limited
Tarafder Ruhul Amin, Bangladesh National Football Team Head Coach Tom Saintfiet were, among others, present at the ceremony.
Participating teams are: Sheikh Jamal DC, Sheikh Russel KC, Dhaka Mohammedan SC Ltd, Dhaka Abahani Ltd, Brothers Union Club, Muktijoddha SKC, Team BJMC, Soccer Club, Feni, Ctg Abahani Ltd,Rahmatganj MFS, Arambagh KS and Uttar Baridhara Club.A total of 132 matches will be held in the four venues — Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagomg, Sylhet District Stadium and Rafiq Uddin Bhuiyan Stadium in Mymensingh.


Comments are closed.