'Louis Kahn's JS final drawing inventory list collected from USA'

‘Louis Kahn’s JS final drawing inventory list collected from USA’


Dhaka – The government has already collected legendary American architect Louis I Kahn’s final drawing inventory list from the USA for proper preservation of the original design of the Parliament Complex and the mega project taken for its adjacent areas.
“The final drawing inventory list was sent from the USA on January 15, 2016,” Housing and Public Works Minister Eng Mosharraf Hossain told Parliament on Thursday replying to a starred question from ruling Jatiya Party MP Selim Uddin (Sylhet-5).
As per the Prime Minister’s directive, the minister said officials contacted the Pensylvania University Architectural Archive, USA through email to collect Louis I Kahn’s designs of the Parliament complex and other architectural designs of the mega project taken for adjacent areas.An amount of US$ 3,550 was sent to the USA through Bangladesh Bank on November 8, 2015 as fee for finding out the design from the Architectural Archive and preparing the drawing inventory list, he said.
A process is underway to collect the designs sorting out necessary ones from the list, the minister said.
Earlier on November 17 last year, the Housing and Public Works Minister in the House said necessary actions will be taken for proper preservation of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban and all the structures in its adjacent areas once the designs are in hand.
Mosharraf then said Chandrima Uddayan as well as the sites of the Bangabandhu International Conference Centre and the Planning Commission were all parts of the design of Louis I Kahn, but no space had been allocated for graves in his original design, he added.
BNP founder and late president Ziaur Rahman is buried at Chandrima Uddayan, which is within the boundaries drawn by Kahn.
The seven other people buried in the parliament complex are former president Abdus Sattar, former prime ministers Shah Azizur Rahman and Ataur Rahman Khan, former minister Mashiur Rahman Jadu Mia, Muslim League leader Khan A Sabur, litterateur and journalist Abul Mansur Ahmad and Tomij Uddin.- UNB


Comments are closed.