Mashrafe smashes two records en route to maiden List-A ton | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

Mashrafe smashes two records en route to maiden List-A ton


Dhaka  – Bangladesh national cricket team ODI and T20I captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza hit his maiden List-A ton with two records in the 6th round of Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on Saturday. The famous fast bowler of the Tigers, Narail Express has written down his name in the record books of List-A fastest century by a Bangladesh cricketer firing 104 off 51 balls. All rounder Shakib Al Hasan’s 63-ball century against Zimbabwe in Bulawayo in 2009 was the previous fastest List-A century by a Bangladeshi.Mashrafe’s feat is now placed 3rd among the fastest List-A centuries hit in Bangladesh, after Brain Lara’s 45-ball-effort against Bangladesh in Dhaka in 1999 and Brendan Taylor’s 46-ball effort for Prime Bank Cricket Club against Kalabagan Cricket Academy in Rajshahi in 2013.The outstanding batting display witnessed 11 sixes that added another record in terms of the most number of sixes hammered in an innings in List-A cricket of Bangladesh. Besides, he also struck two boundaries and later took 1 wicket 42 runs. Mashrafe knocked the century as the skipper of bottom-run Kalabagan Krira Chakra the side sealed the 2nd victory in the 12-team league by 21 runs against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club. Mashrafe came to crease with bat in his 6th position after
Jashimuddin’s dismissal at 169/4 in 35.3 overs, and reached in fifty facing 35 balls with a four and four sixes then unleash his dominion for another fifty off 15 deliveries that included seven more sixes and another boundary.Mashrafe Mortaza was caught by Marshall Ayub off Shafiul Islam delivery at 301/6 in 48.2 overs while his team posted a total of 316/7 in 50 overs after sent in to bat first. In reply, Sheikh Jamal DC finished the innings at 295 for all in 50 overs. Brief Score: Kalabagan KC: 316/7 in 50 overs; Mashrafe 104, Jashimuddin 64, Hamilton Masakadza 45, Sohag Gazi 2/39, Mahmudullah 2/56. Sheikh Jamal DC: 295/10 in 50 overs; Zabid Hossain not out 52, Muktar Ali 51, Sohag Gazi 47, Abdullah Al Mamun 40, Hamilton Masakadza 4/37. (UNB)


Comments are closed.