Mustafiz wins 'Debutant of the year' ESPNcricinfo Awards

Mustafiz wins ‘Debutant of the year’ ESPNcricinfo Awards


DHAKA – Good news continues to pour for Bangladesh cricketing fans after Tigers marched into ICC T20 World Cup final round by thrashing hapless Oman on Sunday, today wonder kid of Bangladesh Mustafizur Rahman was declared winner of the “Debutant of the Year” title for 2015 at the Maruti Suzuki ESPNcricinfo Awards according to 20-year-old Mustafizur spark fire among the Tiger fans, as he made a dream debut in one-day international series against India last year in June 2015, as he was voted by ESPNcricinfo’s users, in addition to the jury.The Maruti Suzuki ESPNcricinfo Awards in a number of cricket categories were announced on Monday.

Satkhira sensation Mustafizur accumulated 13 wickets on his maiden series win against India. Earlier Bangladesh created history as they romped off to register a Banglawash 3-0 series win over ODI series victory Pakistan. He made his T20 debut against Pakistan earlier in April and secured two wickets.Among the bowlers who have taken more than 30 international wickets in 2015, Mustafizur’s average and strike rate (19.5) are the best, according to the ESPNcricinfo.New Zealander Kane Williamson’s career highest unbeaten 242 in Wellington against Sri Lanka has been voted the top Test batting performance of 2015. The Test bowling award went to England’s Stuart Broad, whose 8 for 15 at Trent Bridge skittled Australia out for 60, paving the way for England to regain the Ashes.New Zealand players won three awards this year. Tim Southee took the ODI bowling award for his 7 for 33, which bundled England out for 123 in under 34 overs the World Cup; and Brendon McCullum won the Captain of the Year title.The best ODI batting performance award went to AB de Villiers, whose 149 off 44 balls against the West Indies at the Wanderers contained the fastest ODI hundred (off 31 balls) and fastest fifty (16 balls).The awards, now in their ninth year, honour the best batting and bowling performances across the international formats of the game in the preceding calendar year.This year’s awards were voted on by a jury of former players – among them, Ian Chappell, Mahela Jayawardene, Jeff Dujon, Courtney Walsh, John Wright, Mark Butcher, Mark Nicholas – and ESPNcricinfo’s senior writers and editors.(BSS)


Comments are closed.