National Volleyball: PDB retain men's title, Ansar women's title  

National Volleyball: PDB retain men’s title, Ansar women’s title  


Dhaka – Power Development Board (PDB) retained the men’s title and Bangladesh Ansar clinched the women’s title of the Shahjajal Islami Bank National Volleyball Championships at the Shaheed Suhrawardy National Indoor Stadium in Mirpur on Monday.PDB clichéd the 28th National Men’s Volleyball crown beating Bangladesh Army by 3-1 sets in the final while Bangladesh Ansar lifted the 23rd National Women’s Volleyball title defeating BJMC by straight 3-0 sets in the title deciding match.This is the 2nd consecutive title for PDB and the 7th crown for Bangladesh Ansar in their respective national meets.Agriculture Minister Begum Motia Chowdhury was the chief guest in the finals and later she distributed the prizes.Managing Director and CEO of the meet’s sponsor Shahjajal Islami Bank Ltd Forman R Chowdhury was present as special guest where General Secretary of Bangladesh Volleyball Federation Ashiqur Rahman Miku was also present.In the day’s place-deciding matches, Bangladesh Navy finished 3rd in the men’s group beating Titas Gas by 3-1 sets while Rajshahi District became 3rd in women’s group defeating Chittagong District by also by 3-1 sets at the same venue.Earlier in the men’s semifinal on Monday, PDB eliminated Bangladesh Navy by straight 3-0 sets while Bangladesh Army defeated Titas Gas by the same margin.In the women’s semifinals on the same day, Bangladesh Jute Mills Corporation (BJMC) beat Rajshahi DSA by straight 3-0 sets while Bangladesh Ansar defeated Chittagong DSA by the same margin to qualify for the final.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.