Riders got heavy defeat from Victorians

Riders got heavy defeat from Victorians


Comilla Victorians completed their first phase of the franchise-based 3rd Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) with a convincing 9-wicket victory against Rangpur Riders in the 11th Twenty20 league match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.Replying to Rangpur Riders’ league lowest score of 82 runs, Comilla Victorians drew the winning line scoring 84 runs losing only one wicket in 11.5 overs, thanks to unbeaten second wicket stand of 55 in 6.3 overs between Marlon Samuels and opener Imrul Kayes.Marlon Samuels who was adjudged man of the match hammered the team highest not-out 42 off 24 balls with eight boundaries and one six while Imrul Kayes scored another unbeaten 24 off 29 balls involving two fours and one six.The Victorians lost their only wicket of Mahmudul Hasan who scored 11 off 18 balls with two fours before being caught by skipper Misbah-ul-Haq off an Arafat Sunny delivery when the team’s total was at 29 in 5.2 overs.Arafat Sunny conceded 13 runs in 3 overs to bag the only wicket.Earlier, sent in to bat first in the match, Rangpur Riders were bowled out for 82 runs, still playing 19.5 overs. Number three batsman Mohammad Mithun scored the highest 28 off 42 balls involving two fours. He was caught by Abu Hider off a Nuwan Kulasekara bowling leaving the team struggling further at 67 for 7 in 17 overs.Number 10 Saqlain Sajib fell victim to run out scoring 11 off 8 balls with two boundaries and it was the other double figure for Rangpur.

Rangpur Riders faced early jolt losing their top order batsmen — Soumya Sarkar, Lendl Simmons and Jahurul Islam — for 18 runs in 4.6 overs and could not come back in the match for a decent score.
Nuwan Kulasekara captured 4 wickets for 12 runs in 4 overs. Abu Hider took 2 wickets for 15 runs also in 4 overs.
Ashar Zaidi and Sunil Narine took one wicket each fulfilling their quota of four overs and conceding 13 and 16 runs respectively.With this result, Comilla Victorians completed the first phase of the tournament securing 6 points from 4 matches with 3 successive victories. Rangpur Riders also earned 6 points, but from 5 matches with 3 wins and two losses.
source:Prothon Alo


Comments are closed.