South Africa take lead beating Tigers by 52 runs | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

South Africa take lead beating Tigers by 52 runs


Mighty South Africa took a 1-0 lead beating Bangladesh by 52 runs in the first Twenty20 International match of their two-match NPOLY National Polymer T20I Cricket Series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday.
Chasing a moderate target of 149 runs, the Tigers’ were bundled out for 96 runs in 18.5 overs.
All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored the highest 26 runs off 30 balls with one four and one six before he was caught by Wayne Parnell off JP Duminy while T20I debutant Litton Kumar Das was the second highest scorer for Bangladesh scoring 22 runs off 26 balls with one six.

PM Sheikh Hasina with members of the National Cricket team at Ganobhaban on Sunday

PM Sheikh Hasina with members of the National Cricket team at Ganobhaban on Sunday

Opening the bat, Bangladesh faced an early jolt losing opener Tamim Iqbal (5 off 4b, 1X4) and Soumya Sarkar (7 off 7b, 1X4) for 13 runs in 1.5 overs.
Shakib and Tigers’ Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim paired for 37 runs in 6 overs in the 3rd wicket stand to carry the team total to 50 for 3 in 7.5 overs, before Mushfiqur (17 off 19b, 2X4) was caught by David Miller off Jean Pauel Duminy.
Sabbir Rahman and Nasir Hossain followed Mushfiqur scoring 4 and 1 runs respectively when scoreboard showing for Bangladesh 57 for 5 in 10.1 overs.
Shakib scored 26 runs off 30 balls with one four and one six and was caught by Wayne Parnell off JP Duminy at teams 71 for 6 in 13.2 overs.
Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (5 off 4 b, 1X4) was caught by AD de Villiers off Kagiso Rabada at 86 for 7 in 14.5 overs.
Shohag Gazi and Mustafizur Rahman and were out for 4 and 1 runs respectively while Arafat Sunny was on 1 runs.
JP Duminy, David Wise and K Rabada grabbed two wickets each for 11, 12 and 28 runs respectively. KJ Abbott, WD Parnell and Aaron Phangiso took one wicket apiece for 10, 12 and 21 runs respectively.
Earlier, the Proteas posted the target at the cost of 4 wickets in 20 overs as they batted first in the match winning the toss, spurred by the skipper Faf du Plessis who was adjudged man of the match, knocked of unbeaten 79 runs off 61 balls.
After the departure of DA Millernumber four at 90 for 4 in 13.2 overs, du Plessis continued his batting show up to tail-end pairing with Rilee Roscoe Rossouw in the fifth wicket stand to contribute unbeaten 58 runs in 6.4 overs.
Rilee Roscoe Rossouw scored not out 31 runs off 21 balls featuring 2 fours and 2 sixes.
In the day’s match, the Tigers made a brilliant start claiming world best cricketer-cum-Proteas opener AB de Villiers at 2 for 1 in 1 over.
Spinner Arafat Sunny jolted the visitors batting castle in his last delivery of the innings first over, captured AB de Villiers (2 off 6b) who was caught by Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.
Sunny’s length ball on off stump went with the angle towards middle, AB carved it through the off side and Mashrafe ensured the end-up by a simple catch at head height at cover point.
Bangladesh’s clean finisher Nasir Hossain dismissed number two Quinton de Kock (12 off 8b, 1X6), was caught by Litton Kumar Das, in his second over spell’s last ball, when scoreboard showing 31 for 2 in 4 overs.
Showing an excellent catch Nasir helped Arafat Sunny depart the visitors’ third wicket stand of 46 runs in 7.2 overs, between Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis and JP Duminy (18 off 22b, 1X4) at teams 77 for 3 in 11.2 overs.
Sunny lured Duminy who looked to hit over wide mid-on, but failed to reach dragging the ball in the air towards deep midwicket, Nasir, lost control initially, finished the job falling forward to his right caught the catch inches off the turf.
DA Miller came to pair with skipper Faf du Plessis, but world number one all-rounder in all format of cricket Shakib Al Hasan trapped lbw to send Miller (1 off 3b) back at 90 for 4 in 13.2 overs.
With this wicket, Shakib became Bangladesh’s leading T20I wicket-taker leapfrogging veteran spinner Abdur Razzak (44 wickets in 34 matches with best 4/16, average 19.04 runs).
Shakib took 45 wickets from 37 matches with best 4/21 conceded 868 runs with an average of 19.26 to be the highest T20I wicket taker.
Arafat Sunny grabbed two wickets for 19 runs in 3 overs while Shakib Al Hasan and Nasir Hossain took one wicket each for 24 and 37 runs respectively, both bowled 4 overs apiece.
This is the third defeat for Bangladesh against South Africa. The second T20I is scheduled for Tuesday (July 7) at 1:30pm at the same venue.
Apart from T20Is, the visitors will play three ODIs and two Test matches against Bangladesh in the five-week long full-fledged bilateral series. .
Bangladesh T20Isquad: Tamim Iqbal, Litton Kumar Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman and Arafat Sunny.
South Africa T20I squad: Q de Kock†, RR Rossouw, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis (captain), David Miller, JP Duminy, D Wiese, WD Parnell, KJ Abbott, AM Phangiso and Kagiso Rabada. – UNB


Comments are closed.