Superstars loosing streak continues

Superstars loosing streak continues


Dhaka Dynamites beat Sylhet Superstars by 34 runs in the 12th match of the franchise-based 3rd Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Friday.Chasing a target of 177 runs, Sylhet Super Stars were forced to fold their innings at 132 in 19.5 overs with Nurul Hasan scoring the highest not out 35 off 22 balls involving one four and two sixes.Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim scored the 2nd highest 23 off 22 balls with three fours before being trapped lbw off Abul Hasan bowling at 80/5 in 13 overs.Sylhet Super Stars started a bit better than Dhaka Dynamites as their opening pair raised their tally to 31 runs in 5 overs before Dilshan Munaweera was caught by Shadman Islam off an Abul Hasan delivery scoring 16 off 18 balls with three fours.Sylhet Super Stars then lost their wickets in a regular interval.Josh Cobb was bowled out off a Mosharraf Hossain delivery to follow Dilshan Munaweera scoring run-a-ball 15 including one six at team 44/2 in 6.4 overs.Nazmul Hossain Milon scored 13 off 12 with one four while Mominul Haque added 12 off 13 balls with two fours to be the other double figure scorers for their side.Mosharraf Hossain captured 3 wickets for 15 runs in 4 overs. Yasir Shah, Abul Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman grabbed two wickets each for 24, 30 and 30 runs respectively in 4, 3 and 4 overs. Farhad Reza took one wicket conceding 18 runs in 2.5 overs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Dhaka Dynamites made 166 for 6 in 20 overs riding on captain Kumar Sangakkara’s knock of the highest 75 off 56 balls featuring nine fours and one six.Kumar Sangakkara was caught by Mominul Haque off a Mohammad Shahid delivery at 152 for 5 in 18.3 overs.Later, he was adjudged man of the match for his outstanding performance.Besides his individual score, Kumar Sangakkara pairing with iconic cricketer Nasir Hossain contributed 66 runs in 9.4 overs in the 3rd wicket stand to carry the team total to 99 for 3 in 13.5 overs from 33/2 in 4.1 overs before Nasir was bowled out by Nasum Ahmed scoring 33 off 29 balls with three sixes.In the 2nd wicket stand, Nasir paired with Shadman Islam for 31 runs in 3.3 overs before Sadman was bowled out off a Fidel Edwards delivery scoring run-a-ball 15 with three fours at team 33/2 in 4.1 overs.Number five batsman Lahiru Thirimanne fired 13 off 8 balls with two fours before being bowled out by Dilshan Munaweera while Malcolm Waller added unbeaten 10 off 6 balls with one four.Number seven batsman Abul Hasan (7 off 5b; 1×4) fell victim of run out at team’s final score of 166/6 in 20 overs while opener Saykat Ali was out for duck caught by Nasum Ahmed off Mohammad Shahid bowling in the very 4th delivery at 2 for 1.Mohammad Shahid grabbed 2 wickets for 27 runs in 4 overs. Nasum Ahmed, Dilshan Munaweera and Fidel Edwards took one wicket each for 20, 20 and 35 runs respectively in 3, 4 and 4 overs.


Comments are closed.