Voter list update: enumerators to collect data from May 15 to September 10

Voter list update: enumerators to collect data from May 15 to September 10


The Election Commission, over three phases, will collect data of possible voters from May 15 to September 10 this year, with a view to updating the country’s electoral rolls.

Enumerators will go to door-to-door data collection from May 15 to 24 in the first phase, June 15 to 24 in the second phase and September 1 to 10 in the third phase.

The Election Commission on Sunday held a coordination meeting with the government agencies concerned to discuss the countrywide voter list updating exercise that will begin on May 15, said a press release.

Representatives from Home Ministry, Local Government Ministry, Education Ministry, Primary and Mass Education Ministry, Information Ministry, police and Ansar were present in the meeting held at the EC Secretariat.

Bangladeshi citizens who will turn 18 on or before January 1, 2015 and the eligible Bangladeshis who missed the current roll will be included in the new voters’ list.

The updated voters’ list will be effective in 2015 on completion of necessary procedures like publication of draft rolls to receive public complaints.

The EC officials expect a five per cent growth in the number of voters since the last list was prepared in 2012. That will add 4.6 million new voters to the current 92 million voters.

If anyone attempts to be duplicate voter, he’ll face punishment and imprisonment.

No existing voter should register their name in the voter lists as the commission can detect duplicate voters within a short time through the Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) in the voter server, said the release.

The voters who lost their NID cards or have errors in the cards or want to change address don’t need to be registered as duplicate voters as they can find the errorless NID cards or get the address changed in normal procedure.

Photographs and fingerprints of the possible voters will be taken at union-level voter registration centres.

According to section 11 of the Voter List Act 2009, Election Commission shall update the countrywide electoral rolls during January 2-31 every year. – UNB


Comments are closed.