Tuesday , June 2 2020
Home / Campus / Certificates of 18 private universities declared illegal
Certificates of 18 private universities declared illegal

Certificates of 18 private universities declared illegal

Dhaka – The University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh has declared certificates provided by 18 private universities illegal as the institutions have no valid vice chancellor (VC) appointed by the President.
At a public notification published in the newspapers on Thursday, the UGC said the certificates received by students from the private universities must be signed by both the VC and the exam controller.As per the law, the President shall appoint VC, pro-VC and treasurer of a private university for a four-year term. So, appointment of any acting VC, pro-VC and treasurer is illegal, the UGC said.
But there are 18 private universities that have neither VC nor pro-VC recruited by the President.
Despite instructions from the UGC, the institutions are not taking steps to appoint the VC and treasurer in line with the clause 31(2) of the Private University Act 2010.
The certificates signed by the expired VCs will also be invalid, the UGC said.
Any certificate without signature of the valid VCs appointed by the President will not be invalid.
The apex body to oversee the higher education suggested the guardians to know well about the institution before enrolment of student.
The 18 private universities having no valid VC, pro-VC and even treasurer are Asian University of Bangladesh, the Peoples University of Bangladesh, Premier University (Chittagong), IBAIS University, University of South Asia, Royal University of Dhaka, East Delta University (Chittagong), Ishakha International University, ZH Sikder University of Science & Technology, North Western University (Khulna), Notre Dame University Bangladesh, Rajshahi Science & Technology University (Natore), Ranada Prasad Shaha University, German University of Bangladesh, CCN University of Science & Technology, Army University of Engineering & Technology (Qadirabad), Army University of Science & Technology (Saidpur) and Bangladesh Army International University of Science & Technology (Comilla). – UNB