News update
  • El Niño planet-warming weather phase has begun     |     
  • World warming at record 0.2C per decade, scientists warn     |     
  • Putin, Saudi crown prince discuss trade, economic ties: Kremlin     |     
  • India–EU for connectivity projects in NE, BD, Nepal & Bhutan     |     
  • Mango business gains momentum in Rajshahi     |     

India win toss, opt to bowl against New Zealand in 2nd ODI

Greenwatch News Desk Cricket 2023-01-22, 12:11am


Raipur, India, 21 Jan  - India skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bowl first against New Zealand in their bid to clinch the series in the second one-day international on Saturday.

The hosts, who lead the three-match series 1-0, remain unchanged in Raipur from their opening win.

Rohit took a while to announce his decision to field and told the presenter he "forgot" about the team call.

New Zealand kept the same team from their 12-run loss on Wednesday and skipper Tom Latham said he would have also elected to bowl had he won the toss.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubhman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (captain), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

Umpires: KN Ananthapadmanabhan (IND), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV Umpire: Jayaraman Madanagopal (IND)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)