News update
  • China's face-saving exit from his signature policy     |     
  • About 44,000 TB-affected people died in Bangladesh last year     |     
  • BNP will make Dhaka rally a success at any cost: Fakhrul     |     
  • Action as per law if BNP holds rally in Nayapaltan: DMP Chief     |     
  • Dhaka’s air continues to be unhealthy Monday morning     |     

Heartbreak for Mathews as he joins 199 club

Greenwatch News Desk Cricket 2022-05-16, 8:35pm


Chattogram, 16 May  - Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews became the only 12th batter in 145-year long Test cricket's history to be out on 199.

His heartbreak feat came against Bangladesh today at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium when he tried to slog a delivery of offspinner Nayeem but instead ended up giving a simple catch to Shakib Al Hasan at square leg.

Mathews who was key in helping Sri Lanka to post 397 before being all out in the first innings of first Test struck 19 fours and one six in his 397-ball-knock.

He is the second Sri Lanka batter to be out on 199 in the list after Sanath Jayasuriya.

He is the second batter who was out on 199 against Bangladesh. Earlier South African captain Dean Elgar was dismissed for 199 against Bangladesh in Senwes Park in 2017.

Mathews's compatriot Kumar Sangakkara and Zimbabwe's Andy Flower also had score of 199 but they remained not out.

Pakistan's Mudassar Nazar was the first batter to be out on 199 against archrivals India in 1984. India's Mohammad Azharuddin was the second one in 1986.

The heartbreaking feat came via Australia's Matthew Elliott after 11 years against England after that and till now continued.

Angelo Mathews though led the side astutely, he was lucky to some extent. On 38, he overturned the umpire's decision through review and then again survived on 69 when Mahmudul Hasan dropped him at slip off Taijul Islam's bowling.

On 119, he again survived. In the fourth over of the second day's game, he edged a delivery of pacer Syed Khaled Ahmed to wicket-keeper Liton Das but no one appealed for the dismissal, thinking that the ball didn't touch the bat. Later the TV replay showed that ball touched Mathews's bat before going to wicket-keeper.

Players scoring 199 in an innings

Mudassar Nazar (Pakistan) vs India 1984

Mohammad Azharuddin (India) vs Sri Lanka 1986

Matthew Elliott (Australia) vs England 1997

Sanath Jayasuiriya (Sri Lanka) vs India 1997

Steve Waugh (Australia) vs West Indies 1999

Andy Flower* (Zimbabwe) vs South Africa 2001

Younis Khan (Pakistan) vs India 2006

Ian Bell (England) vs South Africa 2008

Kumar Sangakkara* (Sri Lanka) vs Pakistan 2012

Steve Smith (Australia) v s West Indies 2015

KL Rahul (India) vs England 2016

Dean Elgar (South Africa) vs Bangladesh 2017

Faf Du Plessis (South Africa) vs Sri Lanka 2020

Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) vs Bangladesh 2022

Andy Flower and Kumar Sangakkara was not out on 199