EC cancels 786 nominations; those are ours – Bd opposition

EC cancels 786 nominations; those are ours – Bd opposition


Returning officers on Sunday cancelled 786 nomination papers, out of total 3,065, submitted by contestants in 300 constituencies to contest the 11th parliamentary elections.

According to the factsheet of the Election Commission Secretariat, a total of 2,279 nomination papers were declared valid while 786 invalid during the scrutiny by 66 returning officers across the country.

However, the aspirants whose nomination papers were cancelled can file appeals with the Election Commission by December 5.”If anyone becomes aggrieved with the decisions of the returning officers, he/she will have to lodge appeal with the appeal authority of the EC within three days after the scrutiny,” said EC joint secretary Farhad Ahammad Khan.

Subsequently, the EC will dispose of the appeals following hearing within the next three days — December 6-8, he said.The last date for the withdrawal of candidature is December 9 and the electoral symbols will be allocated on December 10.

During the scrutiny, 91 nomination papers were rejected and the rest 262 accepted in the 33 constituencies of Rangpur division while 96 cancelled and 259 accepted in the 39 constituencies of Rajshahi division and 90 nomination papers were turned down and 261 declared valid in the 36 constituencies of Khulna division.The number of rejected and accepted nomination papers is 38 and 145 respectively in the 21 constituencies of Barishal division while 62 and 169 in the 24 constituencies of Mymensingh Division.

The returning officers for the 70 constituencies of Dhaka division found 192 nomination papers invalid and 539 others valid during the scrutiny.A total of 173 nomination papers were rejected and 504 others accepted in the 58 constituencies of Chattogram division while 44 cancelled and 140 declared valid in the 19 constituencies of Sylhet division.

No nomination paper was rejected in 35 constituencies across the country. These include Thakurgaon-2, Dinajpur-5, Joypurhat-2, Chapainawabganj-3, Naogaon-3, Natore-3, Pabna-2 and 4, Kushtia-3, Bagerhat-3, Khulna-1, 3, 4 and 5, Satkhira-3, Patuakhali-4, Bhola-3, Barishal-4 and 5, Pirojpur-2, Tangail-2 and 5, Jamalpur-2, Netrakona-3, Dhaka-12 and 13, Narsingdi-4, Gopalganj-2, Moulvibazar-4, Cumilla-7, Chandpur-3, Feni-2, Noakhali-5, Laxmipur-3 and Cox’s Bazar-1.

The highest 13 nomination papers out of 23 were cancelled in Kurigram-4. Besides, 11 nomination papers were rejected in Dhaka-17 and Brahmanbaria-2 each while 10 in Faridpur-4, Mymensingh-3, Brahmanbaria-3 and Cumilla-3 apiece.After the scrutiny, there are lowest two valid candidates in Madaripur-1 while highest 17 in Cumilla-3 constituency.

There are six constituencies having three valid candidates across the country. These are Rajshahi-4, Magura-2, Kishoreganj-2, Madaripur-3, Bandarban and Chattogram-6.There are over 60 constituencies having at least 10 valid candidates across the country.

There are 16 valid candidates in two constituencies — Dhaka-17 and Brahmanbaria-2 while 15 in two other constituencies — Dhaka-7 and 8- and 13 valid candidates in three parliamentary seats — Tangail-4, Dhaka-15 and Chandpur-4.

There are 12 valid contestants in eight constituencies — Gaibandha-4, Natore-2, Meherpur-2, Jamalpur-5, Dhaka-13 and 18, Chandpur-3 and Noakhali-1, while 11 valid candidates in 16 parliamentary seats –Dinajpur-6, Rangpur-2, Kurigram-2, Pabna-1, Kushtia-2, Tangail-5, Dhaka-5 and 6, Narayanganj-4 and 5, Cumilla-8, Feni-3, Noakhali-3, Laxmipur-1 and 3 and Chattogram-2.

Besides, the constituencies having 10 valid candidates include Nilphamari-1, Rangpur-3, Kurigram-4, Gaibandha-1 and 3, Bogrua-3, 4 and 5, Jashore-4, Satkhira-2, Barishal-6, Pirojpur-3, Dhaka-11 and 19, Narsingdi-3 and 4, Narayanganj-3, Rajbari-2, Sylhet-1, Cumilla-2, Chandpur-1, Feni-1, Noakhali-5 and 6, Laxmipur-2, Chattogram-5, 10, 12 and 14, Cox’s Bazar-2 and Rangamati.

Earlier, some 3,065 aspirants submitted nomination papers in the country’s 300 constituencies within the deadline that expired on November 30 to take part in the national election slated for December 30.Of the total 3,065 aspirants, 281 AL probable candidates submitted nomination papers in 264 constituencies, while 696 BNP contestants in 295 parliamentary seats, 233 Jatiya Party aspirants in 210 constituencies.Besides, 498 independent aspirants also submitted nomination papers.

BNP fielded more than one candidate in most of the constituencies while AL in 17 and Jatiya Party in 23 constituencies.But the parties will have to confirm their final candidates before the withdrawal of candidature in these parliamentary seats.

source: UNB


Comments are closed.