Monday , March 30 2020
Home / Campus / VC loyalists win JUTA polls
VC loyalists win JUTA polls
Prof Md. Nurul Alam and Prof Bashir Ahmed

VC loyalists win JUTA polls

Savar (Dhaka), Feb 27 – Vice Chancellor Prof Dr. Farzana Islam-backed panel won the elections to the executive council of Jahangirnagar University Teachers’ Association (JUTA) yesterday.Out of 15 posts, VC loyalist panel won a total of 8 seats, including president and general secretary posts, while former VC Prof Dr. Shorif Enamul Kobir loyalists got seven.
Prof Md. Nurul Alam of Physics and Prof Bashir Ahmed of Government and Politics departments were elected president and secretary respectively.
Prof Dr. Rasheda Akhtar was elected vice president and Prof Dr. Nuhu Alam treasurer from the same panel while Assoc. Prof Md. Awlad Hossain as the joint secretary from former VC backed panel.
The election was held at the university club from 9:00am to 1:30pm where a total of 519 teachers, out of 545, casted their votes. – JU Correspondent