Walton 4th National Women’s Hockey begins Tuesday

Walton 4th National Women’s Hockey begins Tuesday


Dhaka – The Walton 4th National Women’s Hockey Tournament, organised by Bangladesh Hockey Federation, begins on Tuesday at the Maulana Bhashani National Stadium here after three years.Rajshahi Division will play Barishal Division in the opening match at 1:30 pm while Khulna Division will encounter Mymensingh Division in the other opening day’s fixture at 3:30 pm.

Secretary of the Tournament Committee Badrul Alam Dipu disclosed this at a press conference at the Hockey Federation office on Monday.

Senior Operative Director of Walton Group FM Iqbal Bin Anwar and Adviser to the Chairman of ATN Bangla Mir Motahar Hossain also spoke on the occasion.

The champions will be awarded with prize money of Tk 60,000 while runners-up team Tk 40,000 apart from best player and highest scorer awards.

Seven divisional teams, spilt in two groups, will compete in the week-long meet.

Participating teams are:
Group A – Khulna Division, Rajshahi Division, Mymensingh Division, Barishal Division Group B – Dhaka Division, Chattogram Division, Rangpur Division.

The group matches will be held during September 25-28, two top teams of each group will play the semifinals on September 30 while the final match is scheduled for Oct 1.UNB


Comments are closed.