Dissolve parliament for fresh election to restore right to vote: BNP | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

Dissolve parliament for fresh election to restore right to vote: BNP


BNP yesterday claimed that a pseudo opposition has been created in Parliament which now has become a burden on the shoulders of the government.“There is no real opposition in 10th Parliament. Whatever is there it is a pseudo opposition. Keeping this fake opposition there whatever the government says on democratic process cannot be acceptable as a reality,” said BNP spokesperson Dr Asaduzzaman Ripon while addressing a press conference at party headquarters in the city.
It will remain as bad precedence in parliamentary politics in the country, he added.
Ripon claimed that the BNP is the real and lawful opposition and the government would have to talk to them to keep the democratic process alive.
Agreeing with the Transparency International Bangladesh that Parliament has become a “puppet show theatre” he said though both chief whip ASM Feroz and Awami League joint general secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif criticized the TIB report but could not challenge it.
“We consider that the TIB report has mentioned only the tip of the iceberg. The government should face the reality to find out its solution by accepting the criticism both home and abroad on the 10th Parliamentary elections,” he said.
The BNP leader said there is no rule of law and accountability because of the fake opposition that stumbling on its way.
“Under this circumstance, the government should dissolve the parliament and hold a fresh election to restore the right of vote,” he said.
He also demanded holding a dialogue to resolve the prevailing political impasse and release all the political prisoners.
Replying to a question on government decision to hold the local government polls under party symbol, he said they would clear their position after proclaiming the ordinance in this regard.
Replying to another question, he challenged the government that it would not be able to run the present parliament till completion of its tenure in 2019.
Nitai Roy Chowdhury, Abdul Latif Jony, among others, were present on the occasion.


Comments are closed.