Expert panel submitted to HC to help prevent sexual offence

Expert panel submitted to HC to help prevent sexual offence


Five human rights groups on Monday submitted to the High Court a list of 10 noted citizens to form an expert committee to prevent sexual harassment and violence.

The proposed citizens are: Justice Awlad Hossain, former chairman of the UN Committee on Elimination on Discrimination against Women Salma Khan, Mohila Parishad president Ayesha Khanam, former IGP Dr Enamul Haque, Ain O Salish Kendro executive director Sultana Kamal, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) chairman Nirupama Dewan, Advocate Fawzia Karim Feroz, former chairman of Bangladesh Bar Council Human Rights Committee ZI Khan Panna, Nari Pakkha founding member Shirin Haque and Brac director (Human Rights and Legal Services) Dr Fastina Perera.

The list was submitted to the HC bench of Justice Farah Mahbub and Justice Kazi Md Izarul Haque Akand in compliance with an order issued by the same bench earlier on May 25 last.

On May 25, during the hearing of a writ petition filed in connection with the rape of a Garo woman in the capital, the HC asked for the list from five human rights organisations.

The HC bench is expected to give its next order in this connection on June 14, deputy attorney general of the bench Amatul Karim Swapna told reporters.

The proposed committee will analyse the existing laws and procedures related to incidents of sexual harassment and propose its recommendation for amendments to the laws as well as creating better coordination among agencies concerned, including police, the Victim Support Centre and the One Stop Crisis Centre, said petitioner’s lawyer Sarah Hossain.- UNB


Comments are closed.