India cricket team in Dhaka, Test begins Wednesday

India cricket team in Dhaka, Test begins Wednesday


A full-strength Indian cricket team arrived in Dhaka on Monday morning to play a solitary Test and three ODI’s in the Za’n Zee Ice Cream Cricket Series against Bangladesh.

The team arrived at ShahjalalInternationalAirport at 9:10 am.

Mushfiqur Rahim-led Bangladesh will face Virat Kohli’s India in the solitary Test that begins on June 10 at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah. Mashrafee Bin Mortaza’s ODI side will face the visitors led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni those scheduled to be held on June 18, 21 and 24 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket stadium in Mirpur.

However, there will be a special attention on Mominul Haque’s attempt heading to equal de Villiers’ record of successive-fifties while Bangladesh taking on India in Fatullah.

Mominul world record just a half-century away that can happen in the one-off Test against India.

The 23-year-old of Cox’s Bazar, has scored at least one 50 in his last 11 Tests to touch the level of Viv Richards, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag in achieving this feat and just one step away of AB de Villiers who made fifties in 12 successive Tests.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Friday (June 4) announced a ban on carrying anti–Indian banners, festoons and showing any objectionable placard or chanting offensive slogans during the series, so as not to hamper a good cricket atmosphere on the ground as there has been an anti-Indian sentiment among the Tigers’ fans over a controversial no-ball declaration in the quarterfinal between Bangladesh and India in the recently concluded World Cup.

Earlier, BCB announced a 14-player Test squad on Wednesday (June 3) with pacer Rubel Hossain returning back for the series against neighbouring rivals.

Unfortunately, Mahmud Ullah, who hit two consecutive centuries in the last World Cup in Australia, was ruled out of Bangladesh squad for Test against India due to fractured finger suffered during practice a session at SBNCS on Thursday (June 4) which caused keep him out of action for three to four weeks, replaced by Nasir Hossain.

Board of Cricket Control India (BCCI) on May 20 (Wednesday) announced a full-strength squad for Bangladesh with Harbhajan Singh making the Test return.

Bangladesh played 8 Teat matches against India and never tasted win but managed a draw while the Tiger’s sealed 3 wins in their 18 ODI meetings, of those a match was ended in no result as that was washed out due to rain in Mirpur in June 2014.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Tamim Iqbal (Vice Captain), Imrul Kayes, Liton Kumar Das, Mominul Hoque, Shakib Al Hasan, (Mahmudullah was ruled out) Nasir Hossain , Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Soumya Sarker, Taijul Islam, Zubaer Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan and Mohammad Shahid.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma.

India ODI squad : MS Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni- UNB



Comments are closed.