Tributes paid to 'Khapra Ward' martyrs

Tributes paid to ‘Khapra Ward’ martyrs


The historic “Khapra Ward Day” was observed today at Rajshahi Central Jail and in the city paying rich tributes to seven detained communist political prisoners who were killed and taking fresh vow to continue movement to ensure trial of the war criminals of 1971.
Marking the day, General Secretary of Workers Party of Bangladesh Fazley Hossain Badsha, MP, and other leaders from allied political parties placed wreaths on the memorial plaque in front of the historic Khapra Ward inside the Rajshahi Central Jail.Lawmaker Badsha leading an 18 member team also observed one-minute silence there in memory of the slain leaders.Addressing a brief discussion, Badsha called for preserving the historic ward as a library and museum after necessary repairs.The records say, on this day in 1950 the then on- duty jail guards following order of a jailer shot dead seven communist party leaders, who were detained in the Khapra Ward of Rajshahi Central Jail, when they had tried to protest the inhuman behaviour meted out to them.The detainees were served low quality food and deprived of other requisite facilities allowed under the jail code on the instruction of the then jail authority.The slain communist leaders are Sukhendu Bhattacharya of Mymensingh, Baloram Singh of Dinajpur, Sudhin Dhar of Nawabganj, Delwar Hossain and Hanif Sheikh of Kushtia, Bijon Sen and Anwar Hossain of Khulna.In observance of the day, another 12-member team of Communist Party of Bangladesh (CPB) and National Awami Party (NAP) placed wreaths at the Shaheed Minar in front of the Khapra Ward inside the jail.It may be mentioned that Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and Comrade Moni Singh visited the Khapra Ward in 1972.
Marking the day, the local unit of CBP organized a discussion meeting at its office with Liakat Ali Liku in the chair. Besides, NAP, CPB and Chhatra Union jointly brought out a procession in the city. –BSS, Rajshahi


Comments are closed.