Back pain rules Mahmudullah out of Tigers warm-up game

Staff Reporter 2021-10-12, 10:52pm Cricket


DHAKA - Mahmudullah Riyad was ruled out of the Bangladesh's first official practice game against Sri Lanka on Tuesday at ADC Oval-2 ground in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE).

   He complained of back injury, according to the selector Habibul Bashar Sumon. The injury though is not serious to be concerned, Bashar said, as a precaution, Mahmudullah was kept out of the game, which will help Bangladesh take preparation for the upcoming Twenty20 World Cup, to be hosted by UAE and Oman.

   "Mahmudullah Riyad has a slight back paid and he won't have time to rest during the tournament when there will be back-to-back matches. So we are not taking any risks now," Bashar said.

   "He will not play tomorrow's match; we will give him a bit of time. He is a seasoned player, so he can recover with a bit of rest, and prepare for the tournament."

   The Tigers will play another official practice game against Ireland on Thursday.

   Bangladesh who had set up a conditioning camp in Oman, played a practice game against Oman A team earlier. They compiled a staggering 207-4 and won the game eventually by 60 runs.

   Captain Mahmudullah Riyad missed that practice game due to his back injury.

   Fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who played IPL for Rajasthan Royals had already joined the team.

   After playing those two practice matches, Bangladesh will travel back to Oman for their Round 1 phase.

   Mahmudullah and his troop will start their mission, taking on Scotland on October 17 after which they will face off hosts Oman on October 19 and Papua New Guinea on October 21. It is expected that they won't face any stern challenges from this sides and would effortlessly qualify for the Super 12s.

   The Tigers so far played 25 matches in the World Cup of this shortest version of cricket and won just five-four of which came in the qualifying round. They won only one match against West Indies in the tournament proper.

  Squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (Captain), Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shamim Patwari, Rubel Hossain.BSS