England bowl against West Indies in T20 World Cup

Staff Reporter 2021-10-23, 10:28pm Cricket


DUBAI - England skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss 
and elected to bowl against holders West Indies in the Super 12 match of the 
Twenty20 World Cup on Saturday, five years after the two sides clashed in the 
2016 final.

  Carlos Brathwaite hit four straight sixes off Ben Stokes in that dramatic 
final in Kolkata, but both players are missing from this tournament.

  Morgan, who is looking for a double World Cup triumph after he led England 
to the 50-over title in 2019, said the team has the balance to make an 

  "We get balance with Liam (Livingstone) and Moeen (Ali), so it gives us 
three seamers and three spinners," Morgan said at the toss.

  "We are excited about the start of our campaign tonight."

  West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard said his team is looking to the likes of 
42-year-old "legend" Chris Gayle to fire up the team.

  "We have an all-round team. Just a matter of us coming together and 
playing," said Pollard.

  "Chris Gayle, legend for us...Looking forward to what we can do as a team 
more than individuals."

  Both teams decided to take a knee once the anthems had been played.


  England: Jos Buttler (wk), Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Eoin Morgan (capt), 
Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil 
Rashid, Tymal Mills

  West Indies: Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, 
Nicholas Pooran (wk), Kieron Pollard (capt), Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, 
Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Ravi Rampaul

  Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Marais Erasmus (RSA) 

  TV Umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

  Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).BSS/AFP