News update
  • 3 major political party leaders in Barishal rally against hydraulic horns      |     
  • Hamas says 71 killed in Israeli strike on Gaza humanitarian zone     |     
  • Indian citizen dead, 12 injured in Bagerhat bus collision     |     
  • Emergency workers uncover dozens of bodies in Gaza after Israeli assault     |     
  • 7 dead in Vietnam after landslide buries van     |     

India Series: Mahmudullah to lead in T20Is, Mominul in Tests

Cricket 2024-07-09, 10:44pm


Dhaka, 29 Oct   - Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday announced the revised squads for the Tigers’ tour to India to play three-match T20 and two-match Test series 

All-rounder Mahmudllah was made new captain of the Bangladesh T20 side while Mominul named captain for the Test series following a two-year ban imposed on Shakib Al Hasan by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
Shakib Al Hasan was dropped from the T20 squad for the India series and he was replaced by Taijul Islam. 

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin announced two more changes in the T20 squad. They replaced Mohammad Saifuddin by Abu Hider Rony while Tamim Iqbal is replaced by Mohammad Mithun. 

Saifuddin has been suffering from an injury while Tamim skipped the series on personal reasons. 

Minhajul also announced the Test squad for two-match series in India.

Saif Hassan, the right-handed opener, was called to the national Test side for the first time while Al Amin Hossain returned to the Test team after five years. Imrul Kayes, who missed the solitary Test against Afghanistan, also made it to the Test squad. 

Bangladesh will play a three-match T20 series against India from November 3 before heading to a two-match Test series. The first Test will be played in Indore from November 14 while the second Test will be hosted by Kolkata from November 22.

Bangladesh T20 squad for India series: Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider Rony,  Al Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman and Shafiul Islam

Bangladesh Test squad for India series: Mominul Haque (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shadman Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ebadat Hossain and Al Amin Hossain