News update
  • Global Covid cases near 621 million, deaths 6.541 mn      |     
  • Dhaka’s air quality turns unhealthy again     |     
  • Consequences of Nuke Attack in Ukraine will be Horrific: US     |     
  • Russia grants citizenship to Edward Snowden     |     
  • Germany down to four glaciers as climate change bites     |     

President forms EC: Ex-senior secretary Habibul Awal new CEC

GreenWatch Desk Election 2022-02-26, 8:15pm


President M Abdul Hamid today formed Election Commission (EC) with former Senior Secretary Kazi Habibul Awal as the new Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). 

The president also appointed a former judge, two former civil servants and a retired military officer as election commissioners (ECs), reports BSS.

The four ECs are former District and Sessions Judge Begum Rashida Sultana, Brigadier General (Rted) Ahsan Habib Khan and former senior secretaries Md Alamgir and Anisur Rahman. 

"The president today appointed the CEC and the four ECs as per the power bestowed upon him as per the Article 118(1) of the Constitution of Bangladesh," said two separate gazette notifications issued over the reconstitution of the EC. 

President Hamid appointed the CEC and the ECs from the recommended list of 10 names submitted by the Search Committee, which was constituted on February 5 as per the newly enacted 'Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners Appointment Act 2022'.

The tenure of the immediate past election commission led by CEC KM Nurul Huda expired on February 14.