BFF Election: Three to oppose Salahuddin locked in | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BFF Election: Three to oppose Salahuddin locked in


Dhaka  – The Election Commission of the Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on Thursday published the final list of the candidates for its upcoming election scheduled for April 30. A total of 46 candidates will contest for 20 posts — one president, four vice-presidents and 15 EC Members – with one post of senior vice-president filled by Abdus Salam Murshedy, elected unopposed. Murshedy was declared the senior vice-president as three other  aspirants — Manjur Kader, Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan and Dewan Shafiul  Arefin Tutul — withdrew their nominations on Wednesday (April 20). This will be Murshedy’s 3rd consecutive stint in the post from BFF President Kazi Salahuddin’s panel. The 134 councillors will give their mandate to their favoured  candidate in the election to be held at Radisson Blue Water Garden  Hotel in the city. Four president candidates – incumbent Kazi Salahuddin, Golam Rabbani  Helal, Kamrul Ashraf Khan MP and Nurul Islam Nuru-will square off with speculation rife that the contest will be a close-run  thing. Including Salahuddin-led panel’s four candidates, a total of 10 candidates will run for the vice-president post against four seats. A total of 32 candidates will run against 15 posts for the Executive Committee Member posts that includes Salahuddin-led panel’s 15 candidates. Candidates List: President Candidates: Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin, Golam Rabbani Helal, Kamrul Ashraf Khan and Nurul Islam Nuru. Senior Vice-president: Abdus Salam Mursheday (unopposed elected). Vice-president Candidates: Kazi Nabil Ahmed MP, Badal Roy, Shamshul  Haque Chowdhury MP and Mahiuddin Ahmed Mahi (Salahuddin Panel). Other Vice-president Candidates: Tabith Awal, Najib Ahmed, Ashraf Uddin Ahmed Chunnu, Khurshid Alam Babul, AKM Mominul Haque Sayeed and  Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan.Executive Committee Member Candidates: Harun Ur Rashid, Amirul Islam Babu, Satyjit Das Rupu, Fazlur Rahman Babul, Elias Hossain, Mahfuza  Akhter Kiron, Saleh Zaman Selim, Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir, Mahiuddin Ahmed Selim, Tawfikul Islam Tofa, Arif Hossain Moon, Amit Khan
Shuvra, Abdur Rahim, Alamgir Khan Alo and Zakir Hossain Chowdhury  (Salahuddin Panel). Others EC Member candidates: Imtiaz Sultan Joni, Bijon Barua, Amer Khan, Sheikh Mohammad Aslam, Abdul Gaffar, Iqbal Hossain, Nawsher  Uzzaman, Abu Hasan Chowdhury Prince, Hasanuzzaman Khan Bablu, Asfar Uz Zaman Khan Sohrab, Saifur Rahman Moni, Mohammad Tipu Sultan, Mohammad Iqbal, Kamrun Nahar Dana, Sayed Rumman Bin Wali Sabbir, Kaysar Hamid and Asaduzzaman Mithu. (UNB)


Comments are closed.