Ctg dist. bar polls ends

Ctg dist. bar polls ends


The election of the Chittagong District Bar Association (CDBA), the country’s second largest professional body of the pleaders, was held today in a peaceful manner.Election commission sources said a total of 2,828 lawyers out of 3,450 exercised their right to franchise from 9am to till 4pm without intermission.

Counting of the votes is now continuing at CDBA auditorium. Advocate A K M Sirajul Islam Chowdhury conducted the polls as the chief election commissioner while Advocate Dr Shafiqul Islam and Advocate S M Showkat Hossain were the election commissioners.Three panels- Awami League and pro-liberation forces backed Chattagram Sommilito Ainjibi Somonnoy Parishad, progressive and left leaning Somomona Ainjibi Sangsad and pro-BNP-Jamaat backed Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Parishad contested in the elections.A total of 45 candidates are on race for the posts of 19 office bearers including 10 executive committee members.Ratan Kumar Roy from Sommilito Ainjibi Somonnoy Parishad, Mohammad Humayun Kabir Rasel from Somomona Ainjibi Sangsad and Mohammad Kafiluddin Chowdhury from Ainjibi Oikya Parishad are vying for the post of President.While Mohammad Abu Hanif from Somonnoy Parishad, S M Jahed Biru from Somomona Sangsad and S U M Nurul Islam from Oikya Parishad are on the for the post of General Secretary.(BSS)


Comments are closed.