Monday , February 24 2020
Home / Sports / Cricket / Bangladesh women cricketers clinch Ireland series
Bangladesh women cricketers clinch Ireland series

Bangladesh women cricketers clinch Ireland series

Bangladesh women’s cricket sealed a three-match T20I series by 2-0 with another four-wicket victory against host Ireland in the second game at The Village, Malahide in Dublin on Friday.

The visitors earlier on Thursday got a four-wicket victory in the first match against Ireland to take the series lead where pace bowler Jahanara took a five-for as the first Bangladesh women cricketer, conceding 28 runs in four overs.

Bangladesh needing six off the last over and Sanjida Islam [11* off 9b; 1×6] fulfill the requirement hitting an over boundary off Eimear Richardson in the last ball of the match.

Opener Shamima Sultana [51 off 49b; 9×4] and Fargana Hoque [36 off 34b; 3×4; 1×6] shared partnership innings of 75 off 10.4 overs in the second stand, starting from 21/1 in 3 overs.

Laura Delany (2/21) and Ciara Metcalfe (2/26) equally shared four wickets while Isobel Joyce (1/19) and Eimear Richardson (1/29) were the other wicket takers for the host side.

Batting first after winning the toss, Ireland collected a fighting total where the big hitter Cecelia Joyce [60 off 47b; 6×4; 1×6] shared a partnership of 63 off 8.2 overs with skipper Laura Delany [20 off 28b; 2×4] in the 3rd wicket.

Starting from 13/3 in 4.1 overs, the 3rd pair ended on 76/3 in 12.3 overs as Delany was caught by Nigar Sultana off Rumana Ahmed before Cecelia Joyce was caught and bowled by Fahima Khatun on 81/4 in 13.5 overs.

Shauna Kavanagh [15* off 11b; 3×4] was another notable scorer for Ireland.

Jahanara Alam (2/15), Nahida Akter (2/18), Rumana Ahmed (1/23) and Fahima Khatun (1/26) were the wicket takers for Bangladesh.

Notably, this was Bangladesh’s seven successive victories in T20Is in a streak, which began in a successful Asia Cup campaign for maiden title in Kula Lumpur earlier this month.

The 3rd and last match of the series will be held on July 1.