Bd opposition 20-Party to contest polls with BNP’s symbol

Bd opposition 20-Party to contest polls with BNP’s symbol


The eight registered political parties of the BNP-led 20-party alliance have decided to contest the 11th parliamentary elections with ‘sheaf of paddy’, the electoral symbol of BNP.

A delegation of the 20-party, led by BNP chairperson’s adviser BijonKanti Sarkar, sent a letter signed by BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir to the Election Commission on Sunday.The eight registered parties are BNP, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP), Khelafat Majlish, Jatiya Ganatantrik Party (JAGPA), Bangladesh Kalyan Party, Bangladesh Muslim League (BML) and Jamiatulema-e-Islam Bangladesh.

On Behalf of the 20-party alliance, LDP president Oli Ahmed in a press conference at BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office on Sunday said they decided to participate in the election for the sake of democracy though most of their demands have not been accepted yet.

“We’re strongly committed to continuation of the democratic trend in the country. As we‘ve confidence in people, the 20-party unanimously decided to join the upcoming parliamentary elections in alliance despite the extreme hostile situation,” he said.Like the Jatiya Oikyafront, he demanded the election be deferred by one month.

source: UNB


Comments are closed.